Internet Security Technology

Google knows about everything you and steps to eliminate its track

Written by Andy Prosper

It knows what you are looking for, what interests you and the places you visit, among many other things. We are talking about Google, the most used internet search engine in the world.

“When you use Google services, you trust us with your information.”

This is how the technology giant tells its users in the first line of the terms and conditions of privacy.

But what you probably do not know is that Google offers the possibility of eliminating the information that is stored in a place called “My activity” or “My activity” in English.

We explain it to you in several simple steps.

1. Delete my activity

Each time you perform a search on Google, the company saves it associated with your account.

It also records every movement you make, such as filling out a form or reading your mail in Gmail.

All data is collected on a site called “Activity” so that is where you have to go.

Here is the link

You have three options when it comes to deleting information:

The first option is to use the search to find a very specific page.
The second option is to erase the searches of a day by hitting “Today” and then “Delete”.

The third option is to eliminate all your search. To do this, click on “Delete by theme or product” in the list on the left. Click on “Delete by date” and select “All period.” If you are sure of this option, click on “Delete“.

In all cases, a Google warning will appear on possible repercussions, but in reality, deleting the Google search history and the navigation trail does not have any consequence, neither in regards to the operation of our Google account and its applications.

2. Eliminate all your activity on YouTube

Google also keeps track of all your YouTube searches.

But this is something that you can also delete easily by deleting the search history.

Here is the link to access it

3. How to eliminate everything advertisers know about you

Google not only knows everything about you but also passes that information on to advertisers.

How brands spy you online to send you personalized advertising and how to avoid it

That’s why he is able to show you ads that match what you are supposed to be looking for.

But do not worry because you can find out what information is being transmitted to advertisers.

To do this, access your Google account and then enter “Personal information and privacy.”

This time we are interested in the option “Ad Settings”.

Once inside, click on “Manage Ad Settings”.

If you scroll to the bottom of the page, you will see the option “Control ads with closed session”. If you click there, you can choose if you want to receive ads with your interests enabled or disabled (the option not to receive advertising is not available).

Google will warn you that it does not suit you because then you will stop seeing ads related to your interests, but it is up to you to choose.

4. Remove Google location history

If you use an Android device, Google keeps track of the places you’ve been visiting with your device in a feature called Routes.

You can access it from this link.

To erase all that information from Google Maps you must access this page.

The new details that can be seen with the update of Google satellite maps.

The function in question is called Routes and deleting the trace is as simple as clicking on the trash can button (bottom right).

About the author

Andy Prosper

Leave a Comment